You are here: Home » Awards
Wednesday, 25 Apr 2018
  • EU e-Privacy Directive

    This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

SSA Building of the Year Award 2011

Aim & Objectives

The Stirling Society of Architects Design Awards have been established with the aim to recognise and promote the creation of good architecture and good design generally – to recognise architects, and clients, who have collaborated in the creation of well designed buildings and to encourage others .

In particular, the awards seek to recognise some of the excellent work created by local architects and created within the Stirling Chapter area comprising Stirling, Falkirk and Clackmannanshire areas. Entries are accepted from any Chartered Architect throughout Scotland who has completed a building in the Chapter area.

The award has initially been established to recognise the best building in the chapter area with other projects of exceptional merit being awarded commendations.

The winner of the Chapter Design Award is granted automatic free entry to the annual RIAS Doolan Prize, an award that carries a £25,000 prize.

Judging Process

The judging process follows a procedure where the three judges, generally the President of the RIAS, Professor Andy MacMillan one of Scotland’s most celebrated living architects and a joint winner of RIAS’s inaugural “Lifetime Achievement Award” and the SSA Chapter President initially meet to consider all of the award entries on the basis of the photographic, drawn and other information submitted accompanying the entries. From this initial discussion and appraisal there follows a visit to the shortlisted entries in order to decide on the eventual winner.

Awards - 2011

Entries have now closed for this years awards kindly sponsored by Hadden Construction. Judging has been carried out by Sholto Humphries RIAS President, Professor Andy MacMillan and SSA President Stephen Lynas. There was a shortlist of 7 entrants comprising:

Bracewell Stirling Consulting with the Frew House, Torwood

Bracewell Stirling Consulting with the Crosbie House, Torwood

Bracewell Stirling Consulting  with the South Stand, Falkirk Stadium

Turato Architecture with the Murray House Extension, Stirling

Lewis & Hickey with the Library Refurbishment, University of Stirling

Arka Architects with 7a-c Scott Avenue, Polmont

Arka Architects with Cairneymount Church Conversion, Maddiston

The Award winner will be announced on Thursday 29 September at 5pm at the Gean House, Tullibody Road, Alloa following our Autumn CPD Event.